Close

We use cookies. By browsing our site you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more

FAQ Login

AquaRank.com
The Fish Tank Forum is no longer allowing posting of any kind or new members to register.
All visitors can still join the group discussion which has been moved to Facebook.
Fish Tank Forum will be remaining here for reference purposes only.

I just want to say thank you to everyone who took part in the forum over the years and I hope to see you all on our Facebook group.

Office Aquarium

If you are new to the hobby.

Office Aquarium

Postby CuriousGeorge » Fri Sep 12, 2014 9:29 am

Hi All

I'm completely new to aquarium fish keeping.

I have a 1000 litre fish pond in my garden with a number of varieties of gold fish filtered by an oase pressurized canister filter.

My boss came round for a BBQ a few weeks back, having seen my pond, has decided to put my in charge of the aquarium in the company's office reception. :ye:

At the moment its in a sorry state, there are no fish - have been previously but soon died.
The tank as about 125 litres. Has old fashioned fluorescent tubes that don't work, an air pump and a few other bits and pieces.

My plan is a tropical aquarium.
Substrate and sand ( i would like a few catfish)
Around 5 or 6 plants live plants
Filtered by a Fluval 206 or 306 canister filter
Eheims jager heater
New fluorescent tubing.

My biggest worry is cycling the tank.
I really don't want any fatalities especially with the aquarium being at work.

So i was thinking of using my filter in my garden pond to help me.
My thinking was to put the new filter media from the aquarium filtration system into my pond filter (alongside the media that's already in there) in the hope that bacteria will quickly grow and transfer to the aquarium filter media
After about 3 weeks when i have finished setting up the the aquarium including plants, transfer the new media back from my pond into the aquarium.